Darkthrone - Frostland Tapes Special 3 CD Set

Be the first to review this product

Availability: Out of stock


Quick Overview

Peaceville Records (2008)
Genre: Death Metal (early), Black Metal (mid), Punk / Black / Heavy Metal (later)
Location: Norway

Darkthrone - Frostland Tapes Special 3 CD Set

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In


To coincide with the band's 21st anniversary, this is a fascinating trip into
the earliest years of the band and the first official release ever to contain
all 4 of Darkthrone’s demos in one place.

Frostland Tapes also includes a rare live recording from Denmark in 1990 (one
of only a handful of live appearances that Darkthrone has ever made) and,
perhaps most significantly, the previously unreleased version of the infamous
1991 Goatlord rehearsal session.

These songs were intended to feature on the proposed second album, before the
band changed direction and the tapes were confined to the vaults. Vocals were
subsequently added in the mid-nineties, but they are presented here as the
recording sounded in 1991.

The set comes in a rigid digibook featuring an interview with the band,
chronicling their early days, ambitions and inspirations.

Disc 1:
"Land Of Frost" Demo (1988)
1. Land of Frost
2. Winds of Triton
3. Forest of Darkness
4. Odyssey of Freedom
5. Day of the Dead
"A New Dimension" Demo (1988)
6. Intro: Twilight Dimension
7. Snowfall
"Thulcandra" Demo (1989)
8. Eon
9. Thulcandra
10. Archipelago
11. Soria Moria

Disc 2:
"Cromlech" Demo (1989)
1. The Watchtower
2. Accumulation of Generalization
3. Sempiternal Past/Presence View Sepulchrality
4. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia
Live from Denmark (1990)
5. Cromlech
6. Sunrise over Locus Mortis
7. Soulside Journey
8. Accumulation of Generalization
9. Sempiternal Past/Presence View Sepulchrality
10. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia
11. Neptune Towers

Disc 3:
"Goatlord" Rare Instrumental Version (1991)
1. Rex
2. Pure Demoniac Blessing
3. The Grimness of which Shepherds Mourn
4. Sadomasochistic Rites
5. As Desertshadows
6. In his Lovely Kingdom
7. Black Daimon
8. Towards the Thornfields
9. (Birth of Evil) Virgin Sin
10. Green Cave Float
11. A Blaze In The Northern Sky
12. Fenriz drum solo

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.