Darkthrone - Frostland Tapes Double CD

Be the first to review this product

Availability: Out of stock


Quick Overview

Peaceville Records (2008)
Genre: Death Metal (early), Black Metal (mid), Punk / Black / Heavy Metal (later)
Location: Norway

Darkthrone - Frostland Tapes Double CD

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In


The release of Frostlands Tapes coincided with the band's 21st anniversary. It is the first official release to contain all four of Darkthrone’s demos.

Frostland Tapes includes a live recording from Denmark in 1990 and the previously unreleased instrumental version of the 1991 Goatlord rehearsal session.

These songs were intended to feature on the proposed second album, before the band changed direction and the tapes were confined to the vaults. Vocals were subsequently added in the mid-nineties and this version became the Goatlord album (1996), but they are presented here as the recording sounded in 1991.

The set comes in a rigid digibook featuring an interview with the band, chronicling their early days, ambitions and inspirations.

Disc 1:
Tracks 1-5: Land of Frost demo (1988)
Tracks 6-7: A New Dimension demo (1988)
Tracks 8-10: Thulcandra demo (1989)
Track 11: Extra track "Soria Moria"
Tracks 12-15: Cromlech demo (1989)

1. Land of Frost
2. Winds of Triton
3. Forest of Darkness
4. Odyssey of Freedom
5. Day of the Dead
6. Intro: Twilight Dimension
7. Snowfall
8. Eon
9. Thulcandra
10. Archipelago
11. Soria Moria
12. The Watchtower
13. Accumulation of Generalization
14. Sempiternal Past / Presence View Sepulchrality
15. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia

Disc 2:
Tracks 1-7: Live in Denmark (1991)
Tracks 8-19 Instrumental version of Goatlord (1991)

1. Cromlech
2. Sunrise Over Locus Mortis
3. Soulside Journey
4. Accumulation of Generalization
5. Sempiternal Past / Presence View Sepulchrality
6. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia
7. Neptune Towers
8. Rex
9. Pure Demoniac Blessing
10. The Grimness of Which Shepherds Mourn
11. Sadomasochistic Rites
12. As Desertshadows
13. In His Lovely Kingdom
14. Black Daimon
15. Towards the Thornfields
16. (Birth of Evil) Virgin Sin
17. Green Cave Float
18. A Blaze in the Northern Sky
19. Fenriz Drum Solo

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.